Along with the ongoing talks over the launch of a recall button, WhatsApp has now rolled out a granular chat control for the beta subscribers on Android phones. The feature which is already available for iOS users for quite some time lets users delete chats straight away from the storage page and take better control of the space available in the WhatsApp.

The feature is available only for beta users for now and will soon be available to all Android users. User can delete all types of messages like videos, Gifs, texts, audio clips and more. User can delete anything they want and organise the space on WhatsApp in a better way. The features is active on v2.17.340 version of the WhatsApp.

How to access the feature

Go to Settings> Data and storage usage > Storage usage. After waiting for few seconds you will see that all your chat conversations are sorted based on the amount of space they hog on your phone. You can type on any chat to view the GIFs, videos, locations, video and audio messages in detail. Below there is a Manage Message option, click on that and you can now select any message you wish to delete.

Recall button will be called Delete for Everyone, to launch soon on Android and iOS

WhatsApp’s most-awaited revoke message feature that would save you from the embarrassment of accidentally sending messages to wrong contact is coming soon on Android and iOS platforms.

According to WABetaInfo report, the messaging app is finally testing the feature and it will be called as ‘Delete for Everyone’.

Also Read: WhatsApp revoke button will be called Delete for Everyone, launch imminent for iOS and Android

“WhatsApp is finally testing the Delete for Everyone feature: the server finally works and it successfully recalls the message. Also if the server works, this does not mean that the feature is currently enabled.  It will be remotely enabled later and seen that WhatsApp ‘enabled’ their servers for the Delete for Everyone feature, it may really be enabled soon,” the site has posted on Twitter.

Reportedly, the feature will work for all types of messages and messages sent within 5 minutes of time frame can only be deleted. Also, only the unread messages can be recalled.

For more news from India Today, follow us on Twitter @IndiaTodayTech and on Facebook at facebook.com/indiatodaytech
For news and videos in Hindi, go to AajTak.in.ताज़ातरीन ख़बरों और वीडियो के लिए आजतक.इन पर आएं.



Source link