You can’t deny Instagram can be a ball-and-chain. Maybe you’re sick of feeling like you have to capture every single moment of your existence, or perhaps you’re tired of seeing the perfectly posed pictures of everyone else’s life. If you’re anything like us, maybe you’re just tired of the strain that comes from juggling multiple accounts or waiting for those minute-long videos to load on the bus.

Thankfully, deleting your Instagram account only requires a few clicks and confirmations on the Instagram website. Deleting it isn’t for the faint of heart, however, since doing so will permanently delete your account and everything associated with it (i.e., your photos, videos, comments, likes, follows, and followers). Instagram also claims it cannot — or simply will not — reactivate your account should you wind up changing your mind three days later when the hashtag withdrawals kick in. Likewise, neither you (or anyone else) will be able to sign up with the same username ever again.

If you’re unsure about the possibility of wanting to regain access to your Instagram account at a later time, Instagram does offer a temporary deactivation feature. This allows you to deactivate your account for a brief period of time, and still access it later. It that doesn’t sound appealing, however, we’ve outlined how to deactivate your account below.

Step 1: Navigate to the “Delete Your Account” page

how to delete your instagram account deletion page 2

Unfortunately, you cannot delete your Instagram account from directly within the mobile app, meaning you must visit the Instagram website in order to do so. There is also no easy way to access the Delete Your Account page from your profile, which is a bit frustrating. The easiest way, as of now, is to go straight to the deletion page.

If you aren’t already logged in on your browser, take this time to enter your username and password before clicking the Log In button below these text fields. Alternatively, click the blue Forgot button and follow the instructions to reset your password. You will need to know your username or email associated with your account to delete it.

Step 2: Choose a reason for leaving

how to delete your instagram account deletion page 3

From here, select the reason as to why you want to delete your account. Some of the reasons include being too busy for the app, data concerns, or issues stemming from the onslaught of ads. Select whichever option best suits your situation — it doesn’t matter which one you chose — from the drop-down menu next to Why are you deleting your account? Once done, re-enter your password in the resulting text field.

Step 3: Delete your account

how to delete your instagram account deletion page 4

You’re almost there, but remember, there’s no way to get back or even use the same username after you’ve deleted your account. Once you’ve decided you want to proceed, click the Permanently delete my account button at the bottom. And that’s it! If you would like to delete another account, you’ll need to log in again and repeat the process.

For security reasons, Instagram can’t delete an account for you (or that of your child, for that matter). You’ll need to be able to log into the account you want to delete in order to do the deed. Once you’ve gotten through the confirmation process, there’s nothing else you need to do. Your Instagram account will be removed from the social network forever.







Source link